top of page

Why it is okay for women to hit men


As usual when I’m writing, I’m very angry, like, trembling angry, but I’m going to try to keep it together because this is important. In the last year or so, I’ve seen loads of so called “social experiment” videos in which anti-feminists are trying to set up a scenario that shows that people won’t intervene if a woman is hitting a man versus if a man is hitting a woman. What they’re hoping to achieve with these videos is to show that there’s a double standard in violence between the genders and that people should rush to the scene equally readily if a man is being beaten as when a woman is being beaten. I will agree with them, there is a double standard – but rightly so.

That’s right; it’s okay for women to hit men. Oh you’re shocked? Just because I’m, like, a feminist you think I’m going to be all soft? Well you’re wrong. When you think about it, it’s not really a controversial statement. I mean we all know this deep down, we have the gut feeling about it and yes, most people would agree that women are entitled to use violence against men. It’s been like that for ages and ages, and it’s one of the only features of the patriarchal era that I can actually agree with. When a woman hits a man, she’s only defending herself from, the, like, assault of the massive machinery that is the patriarchy. The act of connecting your fist with a man’s jaw as a woman is, like, fighting back for centuries of oppression and denigration and it’s not just a physical thing, it’s a symbolical and empowering action. Women hitting men is liberating. When a woman hits a man it’s all about control, it’s all about putting women in their place and subjugating them. If anyone sees a man hitting a woman, they need to act quickly and remove the oppressive threat, and I think people are very good at this already. A man hitting a woman is never ok because of all the history that comes along with that hairy-knuckled fist. Women are the Jews of gender relations and men are the Nazis – I think most people would agree that a Jew punching a Nazi is justified. I hit a man once and I must say it was thrilling. I was at like a club in central London when this guy came up to me and offered to buy me a drink. Of course as a feminist I was offended that this guy thought he could just buy sexual services from me – so I gave him a lesson in gender relations and date rape culture, but he wouldn’t listen and called a “f*cking slag” and so I hit him. Hard. Of course nobody tried to pry me away from him, but instead everyone asked me if I was okay. That’s how it should be, us women should be celebrated for fighting back – we have after all been put down for millennia. I am now starting this hashtag to tear down these anti-feminists’ efforts to make it okay to hit women, tweet under #GirlsHitBack to show that it will never be okay to hit women

Follow Cassidy Boon on Twitter ---> @CassidyBoon95

bottom of page