top of page

15-year old Swedish girl auctions off virginity in order to fund local mosque


Down and dirty for a good cause – 15-year old Swedish girl auctions off her virginity to help fund a local mosque for her Muslim friends

A 15-year old Swedish girl from the town of Orebro has decided to do something rather unconventional for what she feels is a good cause. On the 30th of May, she uploaded an auctioning item on the Swedish auctioning site Barnebys.se - but the highest bidder won’t be going home with a new watch or a nice new bathroom mirror – what the girl is putting up for auction is far more intangible - it so just happens be her virginity.

Like many other young girls who’ve gained worldwide attention, the Swedish girl, who we will call Hilda in this article, has realized that her maidenhood is, for better or for worse, valuable to some, and that auctioning it off to wealthy men can bring in a whole heap of greens. But Hilda isn’t pulling this stunt for her own gain, no, according to an interview done in Narkes Allehanda, a local newspaper, she wants to raise the money in order to be able to fund a local mosque in Lundby, the suburb of Orebro in which she lives. We were able to translate what Hilda had to say to the Swedish paper: - You know obviously I know this is going to raise a lot of eyebrows, but hey, I am a feminist and this is my body, I can do whatever the hell I want with it. There have been plans for a mosque in Lundby for over 5 years, but last year the local council cancelled the project. This decision devastated my Muslim friends and especially my Muslim boyfriend Ahmed who really deserves a place where he can pray. I read about other girls auctioning off their virginities online and thought, why the hell not? If I can help bring a mosque to Lundby, I am happy. I am glad I live in Sweden, we have a very tolerant and multicultural society and I’m willing to sacrifice my body to help my friends

Before you pick up your pitchforks or give Chris Hansen a call, you should now that the age of consent in Sweden is the ripe age of 15, making having sex with the girl, perfectly legal. And despite the fact that prostitution is strictly illegal in the country, the government has issued an official permit for Hilda to do what she wants to do in this instance. Minister of Education, Gustav Fridolin had this to say about the case in a Swedish radio interview - Generally we don’t take selling of sex lightly, but in this case I believe it’s for a good cause, I mean who are we to foil this young girls dream when it’s for a cause as important as promoting Multiculturalism in Sweden?

The top bid currently is a whopping 1 900 000 Swedish crowns (roughly 225 000 dollars) and was made by a Chinese businessman, but the bidding has only just begun. - There’s no limit to how high I imagine the price can go, says Hilda in the Swedish interview I’d really like to get to a million US dollars because I think that’d be a great milestone and that would go a long way Mosque-wise. There are some guys from Dubai who I know are considering placing a bid and apparently they like young blonde girls a lot so I guess I’m in luck. It’s all very exciting and my Muslim friends are over the moon. I feel so tolerant! Hilda’s family is very supportive of her decision. The mother, who’s also an avid feminist, is very open minded about all things sex, and the father, while slightly bothered by it all, stands behind whatever his wife and daughter wants to do. Hilda’s sister, who’s currently 13, is considering doing the same thing when she turns 15. And what of Ahmed, Hilda’s boyfriend? Well according to our Swedish sources he is unbelievably calm considering the circumstances and has paradoxically been quoted as saying “I hit it first” in a local newspaper.

The bidding is expected to be long and hard, but we will keep you updated on how this crazy tale ends. In the meantime, tweet under #SwedishSexAuction to discuss the story.

bottom of page